St Mary’s Church of England Primary School

Love your neighbour as you love yourself

Burkitt Road, Woodbridge, Suffolk, IP12 4JJ

01394 383649


Our Board of Governors

 St Mary’s Church of England Primary School is an academy run by the St Edmundsbury and Ipswich Multi Academy Trust (MAT). The Directors of the MAT have delegated responsibility for running the academy to the Local Governing Body, as set out in the Scheme of Delegation dated 1 February 2016. Details of the MAT governance can be found here. The funding agreement with the MAT can be found here.

The Local Governing Body comprises:

  • 8 general members appointed by the MAT Directors, of whom one is normally the Rector of St Mary’s church;
  • Up to 2 staff members who are employed by the school, usually elected by school staff and appointed by the MAT Directors;
  • 2 parent members, elected by parents of registered pupils at the school;
  • The Headteacher;
  • Up to 2 members co-opted by the MAT Directors.

With the exception of the Headteacher and the Rector, members are appointed for 4 years, and people who are co-opted serve for 1 year at a time. 

Name Date Appointed Term of Office / date retired Appointed by
Ms Justine Berkeley Oct 18 4 years Elected (parent)
Mrs Elizabeth Cooper 3 Oct 17 4 years MAT Directors
Miss Veronica Howe 1 Feb 16 4 years MAT Directors
Mrs Elaine Mayhew (vice-chair) 1 Sept 18 1 year MAT Directors (co-opted)
Mr Michael Moll (chair) 1 Feb 16 4 years Elected (parent)
Mrs Karen Read 1 Sept 17 Indefinite Headteacher (ex officio)
Ms Zoe Reavill February 2021 4 years MAT Directors
Dr Lucy Jackson February 2021 4 years MAT Directors
Father Nigel Prior 1st September 2021 Indefinite Incumbent (ex officio)


Recently retired governors:

Mrs Virginia Spray 26 Mar 20 Retired 1st September 2021 MAT Directors
Mr William Herbert 1 Feb 16 Retired 1st February 2021 MAT Directors
Mrs Lucy Overton 1 Feb 16 Retired 1st December 2020 MAT Directors
Mrs Alison Wilson 1 Feb 16 Retired 1st Jan 2021 Elected (staff)
Mr Jonathan Cope  1 Feb 16  Retired 31 July 2018  MAT Directors
Mrs Josie Hogg 1 Feb 16 Retired 31 Aug 18 Elected (staff)
Mr James Leese 1 Feb 16 Indefinite, retired 31 Aug 17 Headteacher (ex officio)
Mrs Di Russ 1 Feb 16 Retired, Mar 18 MAT Directors
Mrs Catherine Whitmore 1 Feb 16 Retired 21 Jul 17 MAT Directors
Mr Jeremy Steventon-Barnes 1 Feb 16 Retired 22 Nov 18 MAT Directors (co-opted)
Rev Canon Kevan McCormack             1 Feb 16 Retired 13 Feb 20 MAT Directors (Rector of St. Mary's ex officio)
Mrs Anne Wright 1 Feb 16 Retired 13 Feb 20 MAT Directors